We Can Has Wedding

It’s official–we can now get married. I picked up our marriage license today.

The chapel’s paid for.

Everything else is garnish at this point.

Of course, I like garnish so it’s all good!

Final vendor payments go out soon.

I have my dress. Hannah Rose has her dress. Erin has her dress. And we all have shoes and accessories. A girl’s got to have accessories, right?

Menu’s figured out. Simple Irish country fayre. We’re NOT doing Corned beef (although I do enjoy corned beef). Corned beef is an American-Irish thing. We’ll be serving Celtic Spiced Beef, an older more traditional Irish dish (that’s similar to corned beef, but some say better!) I’ve managed to get the bar to serve some select Irish spirits. (Open bar of course!)

Favours are done. Have most everything I need for decorating for the reception.

Chris and I have been taking Irish step dancing lessons, in our spare time. lmao! I know–what spare time? Debbie Freeman, my seamstress, also teaches Irish step dancing and she’s awesome! Hannah Rose has started Irish step dancing lessons as well on Fridays after school. It’s a lot of fun–but a lot of work, too!

I’ve got more things crossed off my to do list than not at this point. Now if I only I could stop adding to the list, I think I’d really be making progress!

My bestest friend, Erin, (who is also my matron of honour) will be singing at the wedding. It’s a song I heard oh so many years ago but find it absolutely amazing even to this day, and the sentiment is exactly what we want: I Will Be Here by Steven Curtis Chapman. It’s a song he wrote for his wife. Erin is an amazing singer, although she does still get a wee bit nervous. Her voice is heavenly–and I have loved listening to her sing for over 21 years now! I count myself lucky that she’s agreed to sing at the wedding. If I were the crying kind–just thinking about it would make me tear up!

We’ve decided last minute (for a number of reasons) to hire a videographer. I got a ton of recommendations from a lot of wonderful knotties on the Detroit board. Course, less than 30 days out–most places were booked for our date. Seems it’s a popular date. We were able to find a videographer that came highly recommended and whom we could afford (budgets–gotta hate ’em!). Ready for the Irony (yes, capital lettter is right!)? Shamrock Video Productions. We were lucky to get him, too. He had had a wedding booked for our date but it was postponed so he had an opening.

We got a package from the tour company the other day for our honeymoon. Carry-on bags, luggage tags, rain protection, map, guide book, itinerary, and TICKETS!!! Woohoo!!! Good thing we were able to book early on–the cost of the air fare alone (for both of us) is now twice the cost of the entire trip for the both of us. Eeek!!!

And the kicker–Yes, Chris is Irish, too! Well, part Irish. Aunt Karen’s been doing some family research and there’s Irish on Chris’s mom’s side of the family. Hannah Rose is very happy about this! Seems all her toys and possessions are now part Irish as well. Why? How? She declared them so!

As you can imagine, we’ve been busy. And busier is still to come!

4 Comments

  1. 30 September 2008 at 12:36 pm

    oooooh i am so excited for all of you bren!!!!

  2. Big Chris said,

    3 October 2008 at 1:47 am

    Well you know Bren, I’m very saddened to know I’ll be missing out on this whole wedding thing…heck I haven’t even got my video transfered to audio yet….I appreciate you adding my blogs to your list…that’s very cool…so are you taking off for Ireland for your honeymoon? Oh my god am I more jealous than you can imagine…I will be there in spirit…if you see anything that say McCrellis…or McCrillis…you take a photo! That’s my peoples! Whatever happens, I wish you the best of luck and am so happy you found another Chris to take care of you…that is so awesome to see my sister getting married, inheriting a wonderful daughter, and most importantly, hearing about your happiness…and now you can Irish step dance too…..!!! GRRRRRRReat!! I love you…hope we can all see each other some day so you can meet my Erin….Erin Go Bragh!

  3. Erin said,

    16 November 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Hey girl!!
    I had an amazing time at your wedding. thank you so much for allowing me to be part of your special day. i am also truly grateful for your friendship. we have made it 21 years…here’s to the next 21 years!!! (CHEERS!!!)

    I love you dearly!

    Erin

  4. bren said,

    16 November 2008 at 9:26 pm

    Erin!!!
    So glad you stopped by! I’m sooo glad you were able to be here–and that your family was able to part with you for so long!

    We are so happy you sang for us….I love your voice! You were amazing!!!

    I value your friendship above platinum and emeralds…the next 21 years–you know we’ll make it, and have a good time doing so! All I need now is for y’all to move to MI! ~smiles~

    I love you too my friend, and will talk to you soon!


Leave a Reply

