Fly

I wrote this poem right after my mom’s death. I wish I could say that over time it’s gotten easier–her being gone. The truth is, I miss her more now than ever. She died nine years ago today. It breaks my heart that I wasn’t able to be there with her. Hell, it breaks my heart that she had to die at all!!!

Fly

For Judy Ann Strehle
June 25, 1950 – June 9, 1999

Your life was a song sung in a minor key.
But now your song will be sung by me.
A song of hope and sweet forgiveness.
A song of love, of perseverance.
A song of joy and peace eternally.
Jesus has set you free.

And fly! High above the pain.
Fly! High above the strain.
On His wings of love soar wild and free.
In His peace you live eternally.

I close my eyes and like a dream I see
All that you have meant to me.
Your suffering was so long,
But in your weakness He was strong.
I miss you, but you’re not gone.
In Heaven, you live on.

And fly! High above the pain.
Fly! High above the strain.
On His wings of love soar wild and free.
In His peace you live eternally.

The gift you gave
Lives beyond the grave.
A gift you offer still.
Come to Jesus I hear you say,
Come to Jesus I know you pray.
For He’s the only one.

And one day soon I will again know your embrace
As we live in the depths of His grace.
His love and mercy abound.
In Him all can be found.
He is the reason I sing this song.
He is the reason you live on.

And fly! High above the pain.
Fly! High above the strain.
On His wings of love soar wild and free.
In His peace you live eternally.

2 Comments

  1. Christopher said,

    9 June 2008 at 4:12 pm

    This sounds like a song. And a beautiful one at that….

  2. 1 March 2011 at 12:02 pm

    Very touching. I like this poem a lot. 🙂


Leave a Reply

