It’s Odd Time, Again!

Odd Hours by Dean Koontz came out yesterday.  I had to get it right away.  I’ve started the book and am sad to say that I have not finished it yet.  Hopefully, I’ll have it done within the next couple of days.  Depends on what all else I have to do as well.

For those not in the know–Odd Hours is the fourth of Dean Koontz’s Odd Thomas books.  Odd being the character’s given name–not a description of him, although he might be a little odd as well.  The first book was simply titled Odd Thomas.  It was supposed to be the only Odd Thomas book–at least that’s what Koontz had intended.  Right from the get-go Odd was a hit!  I remember the first time I read the book–it was one of those readings where I literally could not put the book down and had it read in a day.  It was the kind of book where you have to get to the end so you know everything and then once you’ve gotten there, you feel a little void. 

I really enjoy Koontz’s writings.  One of the things I enjoy about reading his books is unlike with some authors, you’re not reading the same story over and over again.  Granted, you can always expect some suspense in his books–usually something a bit out of this world, and more than a twist or two. 

The Odd Thomas books are written from the character’s perspective.  Odd is a talented writer, although he’s much more talented as a fry cook.  Oh, and he sees dead people.  But differently than in the M. Night Shamalyn movie.  Oddly enough, the dead never talk.  Odd doesn’t know why–they just don’t.  Odd doesn’t want fame and fortune–he’d like to live a simple life as a fry cook in Pico Mundo, Cali.  But destiny has a little something different in mind for young Odd.  What that may be in this current book, I don’t yet know.  But I do know it’ll be an adventure finding out!

If you haven’t read any of the Odd books yet–you really ought to.  My friend Emily gave it a go after I recommended them to her, and she loved them.  And why not?  Odd is an amazing character. 

Leave a Reply

