When Taking Your Kids to the Dentist

I told my friend, Lesley, that I was going to take a leaf out of her book and post about this!  We recently had a friend who took her daughter to the dentist; and her daughter was restrained without her knowledge or permission!!!

NEVER leave your child alone at the dentist’s office!!!  Always insist on being present with them.  If you’re not allowed to be with your child, then take your child and leave!

Here’s some links on the types of restraints that dentists are using–basically a straight-jacket for kids called a “papoose.”

Papoose Boards 1

Papoose Boards 2

Papoose Boards 3

Daily Wrinkle

“Anyone who has the power to make you believe absurdities has the power to make you commit injustices.”

~Voltaire, 1694-1778 

New Number

Hey all!!!  I just recently switched from t-mobile to Verizon (Chris and I are on the same plan).  I sent out text messages and emails with my new number…but if you’re supposed to have my new number and you don’t…hit me up and I’ll get it to you.  (NO, I’m not silly enough to post my new number here!!!  lol)

Obese People Won’t be Served?

Found this at   Chow

  

Obese People Not Served Here

Mississippi is considering a bill that would make it illegal for restaurants to serve obese people. Any establishment with a permit to serve food, the bill says, would “not be allowed to serve food to any person who is obese, based on criteria prescribed by the State Department of Health”—and if it did, the state could pull the restaurant’s permit.

Even if the bill is not expected to survive debate in the House, and is just “political theater,” it does evoke visions of a future with scales at restaurant doors, and kitchens keeping records of each patron’s body mass index. Is this what politicians really want? Sandy Szwarc at Junkfood Science contacted the bill’s lead author, Republican representative W. T. Mayhall Jr., to inquire about his intentions. Mayhall explained that he wrote the bill to “call attention to the serious problem of obesity and what it is costing the Medicare system.”

The Obesity Action Coalition feels that if the bill draws attention to anything, it’s to blatant discrimination against overweight people. It sure does creepily recall Jim Crow laws.

 

All I can say this to this is….what the hell???