Wedding Update #2

We decided on colours–Green and Gold.  Yay!  Only took me forever! 

Part of my hesitation in picking green was that it’s considered bad luck!  It surprises people that for a traditional Irish wedding green would be considered bad luck, but it is.  Here’s why–fairies.  I’m going to call them the Gentry from here-on out because using the “f” word tends to get there attention, and that’s not always a good thing!  ~winks~  The Gentry are mischievious.  They love beautiful things.  Nothing, NOTHING, is more beautiful than a bride on her wedding day.  Green attracks the Gentry.  What do they do with beautiful things?  Steal them, of course!!!  You don’t want a bride to be taken away on her wedding day by the Gentry–so you avoid green. 

I have decided to buck tradition in this particular case, and so Green it is!  With my red-hair and white Irish skin, I’m considered Gentry-born as is.  (All creatures who are red and white are considered so.  i.e.  White pitbull with red ears, etc.)  So, that will either protect me or attrack them all the more!  However, I’m not worried!  ~smiles~

We’ve scoped out a possible reception site not too far from the wedding chapel–but I’m not 100% sold on it yet.  We want to check out a few more sites first.  I know what I really want, but it’s not feasible.  I want the Celtic Room at Conor O’Neill’s!  But that’s in Ann Arbor.  (The only other Conor O’Neill’s in the US is in Boulder, CO…and that’s even less practical!) 

I’ve contacted a baker–she specializes in Celtic cakes.  I have an appt. with her next month. 

I also go back to see my dress-maker next month!  I’m excited about that!

I contacted the photographer Chris and I wanted to use.  However, he’s retired due to health reasons.  He gave me a recommendation so I’m going to follow up with that.

My bestest friend, Erin, is going to be the matron of honour!  (We’ve been friends for over 20 years now–scary, huh, E?)  Chris’s cousin, Mike, is going to be the best man! 

I’m waiting to hear back from my dad as to whether or not he’ll be able to attend the ceremony.  (He lives in Cali.)

There’s lots more to do and plan…and we’re working on it!

4 Comments

  1. cami said,

    30 January 2008 at 10:27 am

    Hey, My sisters fiance is a wedding photographer. If you still need one, I’m sure you could get a discounted rate for your wedding. If you are interested at all, I can have him send you some of his work to decide if he’s right for you.

  2. bren said,

    30 January 2008 at 11:25 am

    Cami! Nice to see you!!! Definitely am interested! Would greatly appreciate it if you had him send me some of his work or if need be, I could contact him.

  3. cami said,

    1 February 2008 at 10:15 am

    http://milanvincent.com/ that is his website. He has a link to the photo’s on the site as well as any contact info you might need.

  4. bren said,

    1 February 2008 at 11:31 am

    Thanks!!!


Leave a Reply

