Life in the Burbs

I’ve been living in the burbs now for just over 3 months.  I’m still adjusting.  I’ve lived in big cities, small cities, small towns, and in the sticks!  This is the first time I’ve ever lived in the suburbs!

Understanding and experiencing the idea of suburban sprawl are two different things.  Everything is spread out willy-nilly!   There’s no downtown.  (Think I was spoiled with that living in downtown Ann Arbor!)  Having lived out in the sticks before, it’s not such a foreign idea that you have to drive any kind of distance to get anywhere.  (That or walk for a couple of hours…something I used to do in my younger days!) 

The thing I’m experiencing and having the most difficulty dealing with at the moment is the isolation.  I feel very isolated.  The majority of my friends are back in Cali.  My family is far from close-knit, and those who I am closest to in my family are all out of state.  Having been in Michigan for only a few years, I have a few close friends here–and they’re all out in Ann Arbor.  (Last week saw that number dwindle!) 

What I’m lacking and what I need is a sense of community!  I don’t need a lot of friends–I never have.  Probably a good thing since I lean more towards the introvert side of the scale.  (Once I get to know people I come across as more extroverted–but I’m really an introvert!) 

Our condo complex is small, and I don’t really know anyone here.  Most of the residents are older than Chris and I.  Being the winter, everyone is playing it smart and holing it up in their warm homes!  What would be nice would be to have a neighbor here who I could be close to.  The kind of neighbor/friend where you just drop in each other’s houses a few times a day for coffee and tea or what-not.  Or not at all depending on the day.  I’ve had that before, and I miss it! 

Since moving out here with Chris, I’ve met a lot of new people.  And I’m meeting new people all the time.  We just joined a small group at church.  I’m going to be meeting his cousin Mike and Mike’s family here soon.  (Mike’s going to be Chris’s best man, btw!)  But I have yet to get really close to anyone.  (People’s crazy busy lives may have something to do with that!)

That’s not to say that the burbs are all bad!  They’re not.  I’m just still in that adjustment phase.  And I’ve had a lot to adjust to lately, so that tends to slow down the adjustment curve on any one thing.  So for the time being I’m going to attempt to reserve my judgment of living in the burbs until I’ve adjusted and had time to experience it more. 

1 Comment

  1. johnswife04 said,

    29 January 2008 at 11:39 am

    I understand how you feel. I hope that you get to meet someone in your building. (hugs)


Leave a Reply

